120 film recommendation please

All things relating to Film Photography
Ian Austen
Initiate
Initiate

120 film recommendation please

Post by Ian Austen »

:h!:
I'm going to be experimenting with a medium format film camera in the studio this weekend and wonder if anyone can recommend what film to purchase?

I have no experience with film - any advice would be much appreciated.

Ian
John
Iconic Photographer
Iconic Photographer

Re: 120 film recommendation please

Post by John »

Black and white or colour?

My favourite BW film is Kodak Tri-X, for its high contrast and gritty, sharp grain structure. Its fast 400 ISO speed means faster shutter speeds and less shake if hand held and grain on medium format will not really be a problem. My ideal developer for it would be Paterson FX39. This enhances the crispness of the film.

For colour transparencies I prefer Kodak films again, so some form of Ektachrome. Many would prefer the warmth of Fuji Velvia, which is another firm favourite.

For colour negatives, I haven't shot any for 20 years or more, so maybe someone else had better recommend something!
Best regards

John
sunsworth
Photographer
Photographer

Post by sunsworth »

If you're shooting on a tripod then I'd go for Ilford FP4. It looks wonderful in 35mm never mind 120.

Tri-X is another excellent film. I've used a lot of it - several hundred rolls - in 35mm and loved the look.

I've always used Xtol for both those films, though John's recommendation of FP39 is meant to be very good too.

Slide film, if you are photographing people then Velvia probably isn't the best place to start due to it's saturation (I am not a Velvia fan), something like Fuji Astia or Provia would be my choice.

For colour negative film I'd suggest Fuji Reala.