Bridge - Error Message

Please post questions here that relate to the website or forum
Post Reply
User avatar
Tracey McGovern
Iconic Photographer
Iconic Photographer
Posts: 1238
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 1:09 pm
Location: Hindley
Contact:

Bridge - Error Message

Post by Tracey McGovern » Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:52 pm

Hi All

Can anyone help me....??

I opened "Bridge" earlier today and was happily using it. I then decided to have a look at the photos I took today at Dam House, so put the memory card into my computer but then I couldn't find it in Bridge so I closed Bridge down to re-open it thinking the memory card would then appear but no, Bridge wouldn't open at all, instead I got an error message (see below) with a very annoying "boing" noise whenever I tried to click on any of the buttons "Cancel", "Try Again" or "Continue", including the "X" close button at the top. I've re-booted twice but still can't get Bridge to open up. Has anyone got any suggestions..? Do you know what this message means:

Windows - No Disc
Exception Processing Message 0xc0000013 Parameters 0x756892A0
0x00000004 0x756892A0 0x756892A0

Cancel Try Again Continue

I'm lost without Bridge and use it all the time as I can view my RAW photos from it, plus it takes me streight into Photoshop.

Hope someone can help me.

Regards

Tracey

User avatar
John
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4646
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:34 am
Contact:

Re: Bridge - Error Message

Post by John » Sun Sep 20, 2009 7:37 pm

I would try a "cold boot" of the computer. That is, switch it off and disconnect at the mains supply. Then reconnect and reboot.

Launch Photoshop and see what happens. Do you have bridge opening automatically in PS?

Other than that, anyone else have any other ideas that won't involve a re-installation?
Best regards

John

User avatar
Paul Jones
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2344
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 5:35 pm
Spam Protection: No
Contact:

Re: Bridge - Error Message

Post by Paul Jones » Sun Sep 20, 2009 7:48 pm

Hi Tracey

If I get any error messages I just type them into Google to find out what they mean and how to fix it.

Google link to your problem:
http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&so ... +-+No+Disc


This link has several possible solutions:
http://forums.techguy.org/windows-nt-20 ... ssing.html

As you're viewing images from a card, this might help:

-----
I'm willing to guess it is being caused by a program called dit.exe which is installed by some card reader software to allow you to name the drives and for them to have individual icons.

It runs on startup and is a pretty much useless process. Initially you should test to see if it is causing you problems.
Run msconfig and if it appears in your startup list disable it and restart

if that solves your problem then delete dit.exe from your windows folder (you can also get rid of dit.dll, dit.ini and ditxp.exe)

You should now do a registry sweep to get rid of any dit.exe entries

-----
Paul
================
http://www.PaulJones.org


"As usual Paul is absolutely correct."
"In short, Paul is an absolutely brilliant mentor."

User avatar
Paul Jones
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2344
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 5:35 pm
Spam Protection: No
Contact:

Re: Bridge - Error Message

Post by Paul Jones » Sun Sep 20, 2009 7:50 pm

To run msconfig
Click on START > RUN and type in msconfig
Paul
================
http://www.PaulJones.org


"As usual Paul is absolutely correct."
"In short, Paul is an absolutely brilliant mentor."

User avatar
Tracey McGovern
Iconic Photographer
Iconic Photographer
Posts: 1238
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 1:09 pm
Location: Hindley
Contact:

Re: Bridge - Error Message

Post by Tracey McGovern » Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:31 pm

Thank you John and Paul for your suggestions on how I can sort out the problem I had with Bridge. I logged off completely and switched off at the mains last night. I also googled the error message and it advised to download a "scan and fix" but I'm always warey of doing anything like that (having inadvertently downloading nasty viruses in the past) and I wasn't convinced that the website was a true microsoft website to I decided to use my own scan software instead, which I did tonight. It seems to be working now - yippee.

Thanks again, much appreciated.

Tracey

User avatar
John
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4646
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:34 am
Contact:

Re: Bridge - Error Message

Post by John » Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:17 pm

Glad it worked out OK in the end Tracey! :)
Best regards

John

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest