Photography workshop with Paul Jones

A place for discussions not specifically catered for elsewhere
Darren
Initiate
Initiate
Spam Protection: No

Photography workshop with Paul Jones

Post by Darren »

Hi All at ADAPS. I'm new to this forum but wanted to post my thoughts on todays studio and lighting workshop at ADAPS with Paul Jones.

Arriving at 10am with my girlfriend and model for the day Lisa. Paul welcomed us in and helped as we set up the lights.
Lisa changed into her first outfit and we were ready to begin. Paul said "today you're in charge, this is your shoot but and I'll assist you." Let it be said I'm a complete novice and very new to photography. Paul helped move the lights into position then meter a 2 light setup. We had varying combinations of diffusers, from a large softbox, a beauty dish to a reflector with barn doors. We worked with various soft and hard light combinations with Lisa in a variety of outfits.

In short, Paul is an absolutely brilliant mentor, giving me freedom to make mistakes and learn, while guiding me through the shoot with some totally ingenious ideas, varying lighting positions with hard and soft light combinations. Paul's knowledge of photographic composition and in depth studio craft is incredible. Also his self deprecating attitude towards his own ability made him more endearing to both Lisa and myself. We both had a fantastic day and look forward to doing it again soon.

Thanks again Paul, total legend!

Darren Andrews :-d
John
Iconic Photographer
Iconic Photographer

Re: Photography workshop with Paul Jones

Post by John »

Delighted to hear it went so well Darren and welcome to ADAPS! :)
Best regards

John
Paul Jones
Iconic Photographer
Iconic Photographer

Post by Paul Jones »

Darren wrote: Paul is an absolutely brilliant mentor....
Wow, thanks Darren!